Pendleton High School Lantern Cup Award

Lantern Cups have been presented at graduation to Pendleton High School seniors since at least 1917. The Lantern Cup is the highest honor given to a graduating senior at PHS. Recipients, in the opinion of the Pendleton High School faculty, have shown significant personal development, have maintained a high standard of scholarship, and contributed in a marked way to the success of their class.

Originally, this prestigious honor was given to one student per term from the graduating class. The actual cups were paid for from the profits of "The Lantern" student newspaper, which was at that time, sold to students for a nominal fee. The name of the award was thus derived from the name of Pendleton High School's original student newspaper, The Lantern. This cup, in its earliest days, was then put on display in Pendleton's Royal M. Sawtelle's jewelry store window in downtown Pendleton.

Over time, the distribution of the award has changed. Initially, a boy and a girl from the senior class were selected. Today four (on rare occasion five) students are awarded the Lantern Cup, regardless of gender. These cups and the names of the recipients are on display in the main lobby of Pendleton High School. The names are also displayed on Pendleton High School's website under historic awards.

Pendleton High School faculty that have been on staff a minimum of three years vote annually for the recipients of the Lantern Cup Award.

This award is the oldest and considered to be the most prestigious award at PHS.

Lantern Cup Awards 1914-1919

Graduating Class of 1917

Alta Mentzer

Lantern Cup Awards 1920-1925

Lantern Cup Awards 1926-1931

Graduating Class of 1930

Kathryn Furnish Charles Rohrmann

Lantern Cup Awards 1932-1937

*We do not have all records of Lantern Cup Award recipients during these years. If you know of any recipients, please email stu.clem@pendleton.k12.or.us

Graduating Class of 1937

Helen E Breding

Lantern Cup Awards 1938-1943

Lantern Cup Awards 1944-1949

Lantern Cup Awards 1950-1955

Graduating Class of 1950

Frances Haynes William Tubbs

Graduating Class of 1953

Peggy Jo Nixon Arlen Jenkins

Lantern Cup Awards 1956-1961

Lantern Cup Awards 1962-1968

Graduating Class of 1962

Ross Dierdorff Bill Willingham **Graduating Class of 1963**

Bill Dierdorff Jan McCurdy

Graduating Class of 1964

Dick Jones

Graduating Class of 1967

Sally Schippers Bruce Patton

Lantern Cup Awards 1969-1974

Graduating Class of 1969

David Young John Bartron Mary Ryder Molly Irwin

Graduating Class of 1971

Lonnie Read Julie Swanson Brenda Sears Bill Young

Graduating Class of 1973

Barbara Bittner Roberta Conner Bill Hubel Zane Lockwood

Graduating Class of 1970

Cheri Smith Jean Brown Steve Hanks David Chapman

Graduating Class of 1972

Mary T. Gehling Pat Hall Craig Ely Mike Romeri

Graduating Class of 1974

Dana Galle Janet Snowberger Brent Gibson Brad Wheeler

Lantern Cup Awards 1975-1980

Graduating Class of 1975

Matt Erwin Laura Holt Kathi McClendon Mike Thompson

Graduating Class of 1977

Arthur Larue Creagh Hawes Debbie Marsh Charles Byler

Graduating Class of 1979

Marguerite Standerfer Pat McBee Dan Johnston Amy Byler

Graduating Class of 1976

Kathie Schubert Joyce Tubbs Robyn Delamarter Dan Amort Kevin Alexander

Graduating Class of 1978

John McBee Kelli McClendon Jon Peterson Margie Viall

Graduating Class of 1980

Christy Bates Patti Bouchard Steve Allmaras Dan Pfaff

Lantern Cup Awards 1981-1986

Graduating Class of 1981

William Barth Richard McBee Jennifer Simonson Glenda Staebler

Graduating Class of 1983

Tom Heriza Mike Rickman Ann Stevens Jo Meeks

Graduating Class of 1985

Marni McPheters Jennifer Rosario Brian James Greg Krout

Graduating Class of 1982

John Bates Joyce Kenderick Jolynne McKay Mark Navratil

Graduating Class of 1984

Daren Coppock Sue Heriza Julie Pfluke Fredric Rea

Graduating Class of 1986

Shelli Kinsch Kathy Malcolm Maria Rickman Mark Swanson

Lantern Cup Awards 1987-1992

Graduating Class of 1987

Debbie Ackerman Jeanette Herbes Darcy Kline Rick Schimmel

Graduating Class of 1989

Patricia Herbes Kate Looney Darcey Ridgway Heather Westersund

Graduating Class of 1991

Rich Gerberding
Charla Guiwits
Mary Heriza *Change from Molly
Kevin Marshall
Todd Moore

Graduating Class of 1988

Mollie Bothum Sam Clark Chantal Cunha Melanie Houser

Graduating Class of 1990

Rebecca Holowecky Colette Nelson Mark Niederwerfer Justin Stewart

Graduating Class of 1992

Marty Campbell John Duff Jodi Rosenberg Bob Rosselle

Lantern Cup Awards 1993-1998

Graduating Class of 1993

Heather Carmack Shannon Elliot Stephen Herbes Phillip Lago

Graduating Class of 1995

Kimberly Miller Gabe Garton Jon Kullnat Matthew Karchesky

Graduating Class of 1997

Cathy Cleveland Meg Groat Doug Mohrland Kharis Templeman

Graduating Class of 1994

Karen Estrada Tucker Fife Mathew Harsch Kelli Read

Graduating Class of 1996

Jolonna Blessinger Feather Sams Adam Hawkins Lindsey Hunt

Graduating Class of 1998

Eric Arbogast Kevin Cooley Kevin Collins Brianna Eckles

Lantern Cup Awards 1999-2004

Graduating Class of 1999

Jeff Read Emily Daley Alyssa McLaughlin Russ Montgomery

Graduating Class of 2001

Kari Dallas Courtney Pahl Erin Nooy

Graduating Class of 2003

Chelsea Pahl Emily Peal Daisy Alva Paul Nolan

Graduating Class of 2000

Elizabeth Peal Erin Harral Andrew MacKenzie Jeremy Gregory

Graduating Class of 2002

Greggory Dallas Drew Larson Shannon Malcom Cydney Corey

Graduating Class of 2004

Jody Jenson John Fisher Tyler Seibold Kelsey Willman

Lantern Cup Awards 2005-2010

Graduating Class of 2005

Jasmine Aflatooni Juleen Adelman Brenda Buckman Kim Malcom

Graduating Class of 2007

Whitney Adams Katie Barry Brian McBee Lacie Nolan

Graduating Class of 2009

Austin Bixler Taylor Lovell Kelli McBee Steffane Oles Kate Bostwick

Graduating Class of 2006

Sarah Peal Stephanie Cleveland Griffin Pahl Trevor Patterson

Graduating Class of 2008

McKennon Cimmiyotti Sam Stewart Alex Featherstone April Weathers

Graduating Class of 2010

Joseph Blakely Carson Clem Deven Jennings Jennifer O'Grady

Lantern Cup Awards 2011-2016

Graduating Class of 2011

Nick Anderson Jordan Arbogast Pat McBee Marika Sitz

Graduating Class of 2013

Bailey Bixler Jacob Rickman Blake Franklin Shiloh Wallace

Graduating Class of 2015

Madison Kelm Anthony Papol Terrel Platt Kiana Sperl

Graduating Class of 2012

Codi Briscoe Jacob Hales Ethan Johnson Ryan Montgomery Tasha Sitz

Graduating Class of 2014

Evangelina Olivera Taylor Hillmick Hannah Smith Daniel Van Cleave

Graduating Class of 2016

Grant Banister James Bradt Delaney Clem Clancy Deutz

Lantern Cup Awards 2017-2022

Graduating Class of 2017

Cade Anderson Haley Bradley Haley Greb Hailey Kendrick

Graduating Class of 2019

Matthew Demianew Aspen Garton Elisabeth House Kirk Liscom

Graduating Class of 2021

Cortney Herrera Emma House Kyndra Nelson Johann Valera-Vega

Graduating Class of 2018

Marin Kennedy Lauren Richards Doria Summerfield Seth Wood

Graduating Class of 2020

Carissa Cooley Redmond O'Hanlon Samantha Spriet Landon Thornburg

Graduating Class of 2022

Keri Kunz Kyle Liscom Anders Oja Lucy Oyama